XVII Kongress des Deutschen Schachbundes Hamburg 1910

  • $200.00
    Unit price per 

Author: Gebhardt, Rudolf (1859-1929)

Year: 1911

Publisher: E Riemann'sche Hofbuchhandlung

Place: Coburg


xiv+222 pages with tables, photographs and index. Royal octavo (9 1/4" x 6 1/2") bound in original publisher's limp black cloth with white lettering to spine and front cover. Pome on the international tournament laid in. (Bibliotheca Van der Linde-Niemeijeriana: 5298) First edition.

The 17th Congress of the German Chess Federation, the first "Bundeskongress" staged in the great port city since 1885, celebrated the Hamburg Chess Club's 80th anniversary and its move into spacious new quarters. The Hamburg organizers met with a number of disappointments, the absence of Lasker, Capablanca, Bernstein, Rubenstein, Maroczy and Janowski. Still the organizers hand a number of "coming" stars - including the future world champion, 17-year old Alekhine, Nimzovitch, Spielmann Dus-Chotimirsky and Yates. Schlechter's triumph was his first uncontested top prize since Ostend 1906. Encountering the youthful Alekhine for the first time, Schlechter methodologically crushed in in an opening-round Philidor Defense lasting 34 moves. The second place finisher, Duras (+8 -2 =6) played well. The imaginative play of Nimzovitch (+8 -3 =5) gained him third prize. Spielmann followed his St Petersburg success with another good performance, capturing fourth prize while Marshall (+& -4 =5) and Teichmann (+5 -2 =9) divided fifth and sixth prizes. The future world champion didn't win a game against the prize winners and shared seventh ad eighth places with his countryman Dus-Chotimirsky. The Hauptturnier "A" was won by G A Rotlevi ahead of as strong field including C Carls and C Ahues, Edward Lasker and K Hromadka.


Corners bumped, spine ends rubbed and frayed, some rippling to pages, previous owner's name on front end paper, faded stamp to pastedown else a good copy.