Wiener Schach-Zeitung. Organ fur das gesamte Schachleben Volume X (10)

  • $350.00
    Unit price per 

Author: Marco, Georg (1863-1923) from the library of Hans Thanhofer

Year: 1907

Publisher: Verlag der Wiener Schachzeitung

Place: Wien (Vienna)


vii+420 pages with diagrams, tables, illustrations, photographs and index. Octavo (8 3/4" x 6 1/4") bound in original publisher's brown boards with gilt lettering to spine and blind-stamped ruled edges. From the library of Hans Thanhofer. Volume X (10). (Bibliotheca van der Linde-Miemeijeriana:5957) First edition.

The Wiener Schachzeitung, an Austrian chess magazine, published in German which was one of the great magazines of chess ran from 1898 through 1916 and then from 1923 through 1938. Originally founded in 1855 by Ernst Falkbeer, but was only published for nine months. In 1887 it enjoyed a rebirth, but even this publication lasted only nine months. In 1898 Hugo Fahndrich, Alexander Halprin and Georg Marco re-established the name again. As time went on Georg Marco became the sole editor and even the publisher. Marco edited the magazine until 1914 and during that period it became the best chess magazine in the world (Golombek:342). When it was renamed in 1923 it was called the Neu Wiener Schach-Zeitung and was edited by I R Wahle and A Lewitt; however, within a year it had recaptured its old title and in 1926 another great editor, Albert Becker, took over. With the German invasion of Austria, it ceased publication. An attempt to revive it after the end of World War II failed. The witty pen of Hans Kmoch gave distinction to the magazine and every now and then he would edit a faschings (carnival) number that was genuinely funny.

Covers the International Tournament in Karlsbad in 1907 with group photograph of the participants. The Carlsbad 1907 chess tournament was one of four well-known international chess tournaments held in the spa city of Carlsbad (Bohemia, then Austria-Hungary Empire). The other tournament years were 1911, 1923 and 1929. The 1907 tournament was held at the Kurhaus (Kaiserbad) imperial bath hotel. Twenty-one great masters, under the direction of Viktor Tietz, played from August 20 to September 17, 1907. This tournament was won by Akiba Rubinstein ahead of Geza Maroczy and Paul Saladin Leonhardt. Aron Nimzowitsch and Carl Schlechter tied for fourth and fifth places.

Hans Thonhofer was the editor of Ostereichische Schachrundschau which had a short run, 1922-1925, until it was incorporated into the Wiener Schach-zeitung.


Book plate of Hans Thanhofer to front paste down. A better than very good copy issued without dust wrapper.