Goteborgs schacksaallskaps jubileumsturneringar, 1919 och 1920 : en samling av samtliga i turneringen spelade partier och redogoorelse foor problemturneringen

  • $400.00
    Unit price per 

Author: Anderson, Martin (1893-1929)

Year: 1921

Publisher: Goteborgs Schacksallskaps Forlag

Place: Goteborg


392 pages with tables, diagrams and 4 frontispiece plates. Royal octavo (9 1/2" x 6 3/4") bound in original publisher's wrappers. (Bibliotheca Van der Linde-Niemeijeriana: 5333) First edition.

Gothenburg (1920) was sponsored by Erik Olson, who became the manager of Pripp & Lyckholm, a well-known brewery in Gothenburg. He and the chess patron Ludvig Collijn saw the need to set Swedish chess moving after the war, and offered (together with Rudolf Herzog) 20.000 Kroner in prize money. The Gothenburg Chess Club had celebrated its 40th anniversary the previous year with a chess problem tournament, and had also hosted the 9th Nordic Congress in 1919. Many of the world leading players participated, with the exception of the two preparing for the Lasker - Capablanca World Championship Match (1921). Richard Teichmann could not come because of passport problems, and also not the invited Eugene Aleksandrovich Znosko-Borovsky, David Przepiorka, Karel Opocensky, Kornel Havasi and Victor Leonard Wahltuch . The Russian star Alexander Alekhine was about to finish victorious in the USSR Championship (1920), and the American Frank James Marshall did not come either. The Swedish champion Gustaf Nyholm had recently undergone an operation and was recuperating. The event was opened on August 1 by Joel Fridlizius, the chairman of the Goteborg Chess Club, and then the players were welcomed by the "honorary speaker" Martin Anderson. The players were split into three groups: A (this page), B and C. After dinner, the blitz tournament was won by Kostic. The regular tournament started on 2 August. Playing time was 11-3 and 5-9 pm, with five games the first week and four games per week the last two weeks, with no play on Sundays. The rules of the Deutscher Schachbund applied. Chief controller of play was Martin Anderson. Reti, the winner of Amsterdam (1920) was at his peak and seized the first prize after a last round win over Spielmann, whereas Rubinstein only drew vs Breyer. Bogoljubov, the third prize winner, did not draw a single game! In addition to the usual prizes, the players received 50 Kroner for each won game. According to the newspaper Goteborgs Handels- och Sjofartstidning, Jorgen Moller had to be back in Denmark before round 11. His three last rounds were played in advance, on the rest days 4, 11 and 12 August. The game Bogoljubov vs G Marco, 1920 (round 5) was postponed till 11 August.


Light edge wear, lightly soiled, corners bumped, pages unread internally near fine.