New Orleans Chess, Checkers and Whist Club: Charter Members, Officers and Committees, Charter and By-laws, List of Members

Author: New Orleans Chess, Checkers and Whist Club

Publisher: Dameron Pierson

Location: New Orleans

Year: 1906



67 pages with frontispiece. Small octavo (7 1/2" x 5 3/4") bound in original publisher's green cloth with gilt lettering to cover with blind-stamped decorative ruled edges with deckle edges. Secretaries complemnts tipped in. (Not listed in Betts; earlier membership listings in Bibliotheca van der Linde-Niemeijeriana, but not this one) First edition.

The New Orleans Chess, Checkers, and Whist Club was started by Charles A. Maurian, Charles F. Buck, and James D. Seguin. At the first meeting, Maurian was elected president and Mr. Seguin was elected secretary. Twenty-seven men attended the first meeting and that number increased to 800 members in its first twenty years. The club was a mix of old and young men who were given the club due to popular demand. A series of tournaments were held at the club. The club housed doctors, business professionals, and men who practiced law. Every man who was a chess player in New Orleans was a member of the club. The New Orleans Chess, Checkers and Whist Club was also a forum for important subjects and topics taken up by the men. Members of the club indulged in long discussions about issues of the time and expressed their opinions or knowledge of the subjects. The New Orleans Chess, Checkers, and Whist Club lasted for over 50 years until the Great Depression and heavy mortgage commitments came into play. They were forced to suspend operations. The Paul Murphy Club is a direct successor of the N.O. Chess, Checkers, and Whist club.


Provenance Tavern Club Library stamp to front end paper. Corners gently bumped and rubbed else a very good to fine copy.