31st USSR Championship, Leningrad 1963 Score Sheet Yuri Awerbachi and Ivo Nei

Author: Nei, Iivo (1931- ) and Yuri Averbakh signed

Publisher: Russian Chess Federation

Location: Leningrad

Year: 1963



14 (10 1/4" x 5 1/2") original green score sheet in Iivo Nei's hand. Signed by both contestants Iivo Nei and Yuri Averbakh. Game 75 in round 8, Vienna open, 42 moves of the tournament which Averbakh won, but both players tied for twelfth place in the tournament.

The 31st Soviet Chess Championship was played in the city of Leningrad from November 23rd to December 27th, 1963. Twenty of the Soviet Union's best grandmasters competed in the round robin event, with only two noticeable absences: the newly crowned world champion Tigran Petrosian and the newly deposed Mikhail Botvinnik. As usual, the field was composed of players who had qualified from the very strong Soviet semi-finals held earlier in the year: Viacheslav Osnos, Boris Spassky, Alexey Suetin, and Igor Bondarevsky qualified from Kharkov; Lev Polugaevsky, Iivo Nei, Arkady Novopashin, and Alexander Zakharov qualified from Moscow; Ratmir Kholmov, Leonid Stein, Eduard Gufeld, and Semyon Furman qualified from Sverdlovsk; and Aivars Gipslis, Vladimir Bagirov, David Bronstein, and Janis Klovans qualified from Alma-Ata. Four invitations were also granted to four former Soviet champions: Mark Taimanov, Viktor Korchnoi, Efim Geller, and Yuri Averbakh. The evenly matched field saw a three-way tie for first by the final, which was followed by two playoff rounds that saw Leonid Stein emerge as the champion. It was the first of what would be three Soviet crowns, and it signaled his arrival as one of the world's best players.

Yuri Lvovich Averbakh (Russian: Ю́рий Льво́вич Аверба́х; born February 8, 1922) is a Soviet and Russian chess player and author. As of 2013, he is the oldest living chess grandmaster. He was born in Kaluga, Russia. Averbakh was also a major endgame study theorist. He has published more than 100 studies, many of which have made notable contributions to endgame theory. In 1956 he was given by FIDE the title of International Judge of Chess Compositions and in 1969 he became an International Arbiter. Averbakh was also an important chess journalist and author. He edited the Soviet chess periodicals Shakhmaty v SSSR and Shakhmatny Bulletin. From 1956 to 1962 he edited (with Vitaly Chekhover and others) a four-volume anthology on the endgame, Shakhmatnye okonchaniya (revised in 1980-84 and translated as Comprehensive Chess Endings, five volumes).

Iivo Nei (born 31 October 1931 in Tartu) is an Estonian chess master. In 1947, at the beginning of his career, Nei took 3rd in Leningrad (Saint Petersburg) at the sixth USSR juniors championships. The event was won by Viktor Korchnoi. In 1948, he tied for first with Korchnoi in Tallinn (seventh USSR juniors championships). Nei won the Estonian Championship eight times (1951, 1952, 1956, 1960–1962, 1971, and 1974). In 1955, he tied for third through sixth place in Pärnu (Baltic Republics championships). The event was won by Paul Keres. In 1960, he tied for 14–15th at the 27th USSR championships in Leningrad. The event was won by Korchnoi. In 1961, he won in Palanga (Baltic Republics championships). In 1962, he won in Tartu. In 1963, he won at the Baltic championships in Estonia. In 1964, he won in Pärnu (Baltic championships). In 1964, he tied for first with Keres in Beverwijk. In 1965, he took second, behind Vladas Mikėnas, in Palanga (Baltic championships).


Some light sunning to edges else a very good copy.