101 partijen van het Europees schaaktoernooi te Hilversum in 1947

Author: Euwe, Machgielis (Max) (1901-1981)

Publisher: unknown

Location: Hilversum?

Year: 1949?



208 pages with frontispiece, diagrams, tables and photographs. Royal octavo (9 1/2" x 6 1/3") bound in original publisher's red cloth with gilt lettering to spine. Reports by L G Eggink. (Biblioteca van Der Niemeijeriana: 5708) First edition.

The West-European zonal tournament, Hilversum included fourteen participants. The tournament was held in Hotel Santbergen; Hans Kmoch was arbiter. Originally, Savielly Tartakower was supposed to represent France but he could not come due to force majeur and Scottish champion Robert Combe called off. The only Belgian victory ever in a zonal tournament was Albéric O’Kelly de Galway. It came about after Pachman lost to Tsvetkov in the last round, while O’Kelly defeated Doerner. Tied for second and third was Luděk Pachman and Petar Trifunović full point behind at +9 1/2. Theo Daniël Van Scheltinga, representing The Netherlands, was clear fourth just half point behind. A distant fifth and sixth was Conel Hugh O’Donel Alexander of England and László Szabó of Hungary with scores of +7 1/2. The other players in descending order were Maximilian Blau tied with Nicolas Rossolimo, followed by Vincenzo Castaldi, Alexander Kristov Tsvetkov, Heinz Josef Foerder, Kazimierz Plater, Charles Doerner and Bartholomew O’Sullivan>


Corners bumped, previous owner's name to front end paper else a very good copy.